Notox Box

A couple of months ago, I won a competition on a fantastic blog called Down To Earth Mother. Jo’s blog is a fantastic resource for green living, offering many tips and ideas on how you and your family can live more sustainably – from food, to reusing/recycling old items, to DIY cleaning, as well as a focus on how you can raise your little ones to be green too. While I don’t have children of my own, I can certainly appreciate the tips (and perhaps store them away for later).

Anyway, Jo held a giveaway a while back to win a Notox box. The Notox box is kind of like a gift hamper of non-toxic products that you can subscribe to receive on a monthly basis. The basic idea is that you get to try a whole bunch of natural products without spending a fortune buying them all. That way you can get a feel for whether you really like a product or not. I think it’s an awesome idea, as it’s always nice to try different eco-friendly products, but I’ve definitely found myself overwhelmed by all the stuff in health shops – particularly when you are on a budget.

You can order the monthly box for $25 each, or get a discount when you sign up for a 3 or 6 month subscription. You can also choose from a number of gift hampers to send to someone special, as well as many other food and household products that you can order through the website.

So while I won this some time ago, it was sent to my house which I only got back to a few weeks ago. I’d almost forgotten about it by then, so it was a pleasant homecoming surprise.

ImageIn my box were the following:

  • Copy of Alive magazine
  • Packet of organic soybean chicken (we’ve had this before – we love making caesar-style salads with this or chucking it in stir fries)
  • Packet of Barenuts natural uncontaminated muesli (wheat and preservative-free) – haven’t eaten yet
  • Argital fine green marine clay – I mixed up a face mask with this last week. I had been wanting to try a clay mask for a loooong time, but hadn’t gotten around to it so this was perfect! I loved it – my skin felt so soft and clean after using it. Will definitely try this again.
  • Organic Dulse flakes – haven’t used this yet, but have before and can testify that it is a yummy addition to lots of dishes (or just as a snack on its own!)
  • 2 samples of Australian Bush Flower Essence skincare – an eye serum and face cleanser. These were beautiful, I loved the scent of these and you could feel the eye serum at work straight away, firming and tightening the skin
  • Bottle of Dr Bronner’s Castile soap – this is scent-free and very mild which is great. I’ve used just a little so far and am saving it for this weekend when I’m going away as it will be great to take with.
  • Bliss ball – a delicious little fruit and nut ball, with the nice addition of fig. Yum!

How great is that?

For me personally, this isn’t something that I would buy every month at this stage, but I can definitely see myself grabbing a box a couple of times a year. As I said, it’s a fantastic way to become familiar with different products without making any commitments to just one. And who doesn’t love getting packages in the mail, especially full of useful, tox-free products?

Thanks Jo, and thanks to the team at Notox box!

Go check out the Notox box website for more info.

4 Comments

  1. Laura says:

    This is awesome! Definitely adding it to my wish list!

  2. rika@vm says:

    Congratulations on winning the giveaway – the box looks interesting! Soybean chicken? That looks interesting, too! Plenty of new products I’ve never heard of before except for Barenuts!

    1. Thank you! ❤

      Yes, it's such a great way to try new products! I've had the soybean chicken before – it's kind of strange but I quite like it. Especially if you cook it in water as directed, and then lightly fry it to give it a bit more texture.

Leave a Comment