Three Bags Full, Abbotsford

Standard

A couple of weeks back my Aunty and I were out and about in Abbotsford, and decided to stop in at Three Bags Full for a spot of brunch. I left my Aunty to her own devices and went ahead to check the vegan-friendliness of the menu, and grab a coffee while I waited for her to do what she needed to do.

My first impression of the place was how friendly the staff were. The guy who I first spoke to was super helpful, going through the menu and showing me what I could alter to make it appropriate. This all sounded good, so I ordered a coffee and sat outside to wait for the Aunty. A couple of minutes after sitting down, the guy I initially spoke to came out with menus, and did a ‘re-cap’ of what I could order, which was really lovely and attentive. I felt very welcome.

ImageI went with the smashed avocado on toast with cherry tomatoes, shaved radish and black sesames, minus the Persian feta, because sometimes you just have a hankering for some avo on toast. I liked the addition of radish and black sesame, as the old smashed avo with feta and mint is becoming pretty commonplace among cafes at the moment (don’t get me wrong, I love avocado on toast, but y’know, nice to see a little twist). The second piece of toast was also very welcome. My pet hate is not having enough toast for the meal and having to ration it.

It was fresh, tangy and delicious. My only fault would be that the toast, albeit yum, was so crispy crunchy that I really had difficulties cutting it with knife and fork. Many times I just resorted to the old finger forks, as I couldn’t get through it any other way. No big deal though, I eat with my fingers all the time.

ImageWe also ordered a homemade soda each – mine was passionfruit, vanilla bean and mint and the other was something and rosewater. Both were deliciously light and refreshing.

Apparently there were vegan muffins on offer too, but the smashed avo was perfect for me. I really enjoyed my brunch there, particularly out in the sunshine. As I said, I was very impressed with the staff, who were lovely and attentive even when it got busy through the lunch rush. I’d definitely go back, although I did see on the menu that there are “strictly no changes to the menu on weekends”, which may make it a little more difficult for vegans to find something suitable. But for a mid-week stop-in, this was perfect!

Three Bags Full
Cnr Nicholson and Mollison Sts, Abbotsford
Mon-Fri – 7am – 4.30pm
Weekends & Public Holidays – 8am – 4.30pm

4 responses »

  1. This is my ideal kind of breakfast Caeli… I love avocado on toast, though I most definitely wouldn’t have declined the Persian feta (I am obsessed with that stuff at the moment!). Nice idea to add the black sesame and radish. And yes, girl I hear you about the toast issue!!! So many cafe’s only providing one piece of toast these days. Rationing isn’t fun. Thanks for this lovely post. Glad that you and your aunt had some quality hang out time xx

    • Me too Laura, I love it! I can’t believe I didn’t like avocado as a child because it is totally one of my favourites now. I don’t blame you, Persian feta was one of my faves too before I went vegan, so yummy. One piece of toast is crazy, especially when you’re paying $15+ for brekkie, as most places charge now. If I’m paying, I expect two toasts! Hehe Xx

  2. Sounds like an awesome place to stop by for brunch – love the accommodating and attentive staff! Your meal looks wonderful esp the homemade sodas – yay for passion fruit! I love passion fruit!

Comment your life away...

