Music for your Mouth: Cream (with Ginger Baker)

See what I did there? Yeahhhh!

Cream are awesome. I like listening to them in the car, where I can groove along by myself and remain calm in traffic. They are good for that. Also check out young Eric Clapton, isn’t he funky?

Ice cream is also good! It is delicious and I love it. Not to toot my own horn but this ice cream is PARTICULARLY tasty. I don’t know that I’ve had ginger ice cream before but it definitely won’t be the last time I have it.

cream3The addition of crystallised ginger is really great here, and I suspect some crumbled up gingernut cookies would also be delicious. THE POSSIBILITIES ARE ENDLESS!

cream1

Ginger Ice Cream with Caramel Sauce

Ice cream:
400ml coconut cream
400ml coconut milk
1/2 cup rice malt syrup
1/4 cup minced fresh ginger
1 tsp vanilla
1/4 cup crystallised ginger, chopped into small pieces
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1 Tbsp arrowroot
1 Tbsp vodka

Caramel sauce
400ml coconut cream
1/3 cup brown sugar
Pinch of salt

For the ice cream – Put 1/4 cup of coconut milk in a small bowl and set aside. Place remaining coconut cream, coconut milk and ginger in a pot and bring to the boil. Reduce heat and simmer for 5-10 minutes. Turn of heat and steep for 15 minutes.

Pour milk through a strainer and return to pot.Β  Add rice malt syrup and vanilla and return to heat.

Add arrowroot, nutmeg and cinnamon to the 1/4 cup of coconut milk and whisk with a fork. Pour into pot and whisk well. Cook over medium heat while whisking continuously until mixture begins to thicken. Remove from heat and stir in vodka.

Pour mix into a bowl and allow to cool completely. When cooled, transfer to ice cream maker and let it do its magic. If you don’t have a maker, pour into a tray and place in the freezer. Every half an hour return to the freezer to whisk the mix until it has set completely.

Once ice cream maker has done it’s thing, stir through crystallised ginger. Now you can eat it as soft serve or place into the freezer until set!

For the caramel sauce, bring coconut cream, sugar and salt to a boil in a small pot, then turn down to a simmer. Allow to simmer, stirring every now and then, until the sauce reduces and thickens.

cream2

Now I am off to watch the Bear play his first gig in a new band. I hope they are as rocking as this:

veganmofo

17 Comments

  1. I bought a Kogan icecream maker when I had a $10 voucher and they were on special. Haven’t used it yet but I’ve bookmarked this and it may well be my first experiment in the ice cream maker. Hey I used to have a teacher who put the emphasis on ‘cream’ in ‘ice cream’. Drove us nuts.

    1. Ha ha, once you notice things like that you can’t not hear them either! I remember always laughing at a high school maths teacher who called my friend Brigitte (Bridget) Brigeeeeeeeeeet all the time. So funny. I really need to get my own icecream maker because it is just the bomb! I’ve been crashing my mum’s kitchen to use all her devices, though I don’t think she’s too upset because she gets to share the bounty.

  2. Sara says:

    Oh my dog. I’m not a huge ice cream lover, but I almost licked my screen when I saw this. Ginger ice cream… it seems too good to be true.

    1. Haha thanks Sara! I wasn’t sure how well ginger would work but it came out so tasty.

  3. I can confirm that crumbled ginger cookies are delicious when added to a coconut base ice cream.

    1. Definitely now on my to-do list.

  4. shaheen says:

    This is the perfect ice-cream for the Autumnal season, I’ve made Plum Sorbet, hope to share tomorrow, but am happy to drool over your coconut ginger delicious creaminess.

    1. Thanks Shaheen! I look forward to your plum sorbet, that sounds amazing!

  5. oh you are getting so much mileage out of these bands – I tried making banana ice cream in blender but it didn’t please the household judges – maybe this ginger ice cream would work better – looks delicious – and love the caramel sauce

    1. I know right? There are so many food bands – when I made my original list for 30 days I actually had to cull some of them! Sorry Electric Prunes! I like banana ice cream but it definitely has a healthier and thicker texture going on.

  6. dimsimkitty says:

    Oh my gosh, I love your theme! Have just spent the last little while reading through all your MoFo posts, brilliant! I am so late to this party, but glad to have caught up. πŸ™‚

    1. Haha, thank you so much! It is a challenge to try and get through all the blogs, isn’t it? I am down partway through the USA, but still have so many to go!

  7. laurasmess says:

    Oh my gosh, YUM. I love coconut milk ice cream, I’ve only made it once at home but it was something I’d repeat again and again! The addition of the crystallised ginger and spices sound divine (as does that coconut caramel sauce! Yum!). Thanks for sharing this inspiration (and the ‘Cream’, haha!) xx

    1. Thanks Laura! Me too! I did a vanilla ice cream the other week with cashew milk which was also really awesome (and new to me) – the cashews just made it super creamy. So glad it’s coming into ice cream season again (though I think every season is ice cream season – too cold for ice cream? bah!)

  8. Yum! Sounds fabulous! I’m not sure if I like Cream (the band) better or ice cream. πŸ™‚

    1. Ha ha! It’s a tough call!

Leave a Comment