Lemon Saffron Yoghurt Cake with Lemon Yoghurt Glaze

I’m running with this week’s theme (rainbow week) pretty loosely – everything is a colour right? I had big plans for the multicoloured prompt to make a rainbow masterpiece, however as always happens midway through MoFo, I’ve been pressed for time, even with only been putting out a handful of posts per week. For the multicolour prompt, please refer back to my tacos from yesterday….they are quite bright. I suppose today’s lemon cake could fit in with the monochrome prompt from today as it is mostly yellow, with a golden orange crust….lets just roll with it okay?

0m4a3393new

Now saffron is not something I cook with often, mainly because of the hefty price tag that comes with it. It’s certainly a sometimes food for me, but it does give a beautiful taste to whatever it touches. This would also be nice as a lemon yoghurt cake alone, but if you happen to have some lying around or can splash the cash, the saffron definitely gives it a lovely depth of flavour. This one is not super sweet, so it’s perfect as a tea cake. You could also just sift a little icing sugar over it in place of the glaze if you’d prefer, but I do like the tanginess of the glaze.

I also want to point out the beautiful plates that the cake is served on. These belonged to my great Grandma (mum’s mum’s mum). Apparently she used them daily way back when, though I don’t remember as I was only a little one and/or probably did not have the same appreciation of crockery as I do now. They are Mikasa Japanese stoneware (how I love Japanese stoneware!) and my Granny (mum’s mum) gifted them to me when I was last in Perth. So beautiful! Only one matching mug survived the years, so I will have to try to scout out some replacements. It feels really special to be able to use them just like my Grandma did 20-30 years ago. I hope they will continue to last so that I can pass them on to another generation one day.

0m4a3390new

Lemon Saffron Yoghurt Cake with Lemon Yoghurt Glaze

3/4 cup soy milk
1/2 tsp saffron threads
1/2 cup nuttelex (or other non dairy butter substitute)
1/2 cup non dairy yoghurt
2/3 cup sugar
zest of 1 lemon
1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
2 cups plain flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp bi carb soda
1/2 tsp salt

Glaze
1/4 cup non dairy yoghurt
1 1/4 cup icing sugar
2 Tbsp fresh lemon juice

Pour milk into a saucepan. Rub the saffron between you fingertips to crush it a little and let drop into the milk. Heat over low heat until milk starts to bubble at the edges. Take off heat and set aside until completely cool.

Preheat the oven to 180C and grease and line a 20cm (8inch) springform pan.

Cream nuttelex and sugar together until it has light and fluffy. Add vanilla and beat to combine. One by one, add yoghurt, saffron milk (when cool) and lemon juice and beat until well combined after each addition.

In a large bowl, combine dry ingredients and make a well in the centre. Add wet mixture, and stir until just combined – don’t overmix. Pour into prepared tin and bake for 50-60 mins, until a toothpick comes out clean.

For the glaze, whisk together ingredients until smooth. Once cake is cool, pour glaze over the top.

0m4a3395new

tomatotemplate-300x285

 

Save

16 Comments

  1. Susan says:

    We have black and white plates and bowls that are Mikasa! They are so lovely.
    I think this looks very yummy, and definitely fits the monochrome theme!

    1. Thank you 🙂 Yes I love them. All crockery I fall in love with ends up being Japanese of Scandinavian – they make such beautiful things.

  2. BEautiful cake on beautiful plates – how lovely to have them from your great grandmother that she used them so often and they are still going strong. And your cake is perfect for today’s theme. I have also noticed some beautiful colours in your tacos and the cauli salad too so I think you have covered the rainbow theme, just a little early!

    1. Thank you – yes I just adore the plates, especially given their family history. Haha, yes I jumped the gun a bit with all my colourful dishes 😉

  3. BTW what sort of yoghurt did you use – I am in search of a vegan yoghurt as I have still not found one I like

    1. I have been making my own – I use Miyoko’s recipe which I’m sure is available online. It’s cashew and soy milk based.

  4. Jenny says:

    That sounds like a nice easy cake recipe, and worth splashing out on saffron for. I love the crockery, and the story attached!

    1. Thanks Jenny 🙂

  5. Yumm. I love lemon in sweets (my favourite is lemon meringue tart). I’ve never tried saffron in baking though so I might have to give this recipe a try 🙂
    I love stoneware too and your Grandmas crockery looks lovely especially with the soft yellow of this cake.

    1. Me too – the combination of sweet and tart is wonderful. Thanks for the kind words 🙂

  6. Andrea says:

    The color! If ever there was a good reason to splurge on saffron, it would be to make a cake in such a glorious shade. The cake sounds delicious, too — and fully worthy of the beautiful plate.

    1. Hehe, thanks Andrea! If only I could find a cheaper source for it…it’s like edible gold!

  7. Shaheen says:

    I want a slice now, it looks delcious and the colour is very vibrant.

  8. Jennifer says:

    Hand me downs are the best. You have the history of something and it is eco-friendly! There are a few things that I got from my Nanna that have made it in the food blog photos.

Leave a Comment