Music for your Mouth: Chuck Berry

You Chuck the Berry in the salad and what do you get? Strawberry salad, duhh.

Um hello! Day 7: Week 1 of MoFo complete! I can’t believe I’ve managed a post every day, it’s pretty crazy. I’ve been loving reading everybody’s posts, I’m about one quarter of my way though the blogroll – I’m trying to visit every blog by the end of the month. I’ve already found some killer blogs and met some great new people. Yay MoFo!

chuckberry3Onto the food! – This is a lovely side dish, and a winner to take to a barbecue or potluck. With juicy red berries and zesty cashew cheese, I reckon it just screams summer (even though we’re not quite there yet!)

chuckberry2

Strawberry Balsamic Salad with Cashew Cheese

Salad:
3 tightly packed cups of baby spinach
1 1/2 cups strawberries, quartered
1/4 cup pepitas
1/4 red onion, thinly sliced

Cashew Cheese:
1 cup cashews, soaked
3 Tbsp nutritional yeast
1 Tbsp onion powder
1 1/2 Tbsp fresh lemon juice
1 clove garlic
2 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1 tsp dijon mustard
2 Tbsp water
Salt and pepper

Dressing:
2 Tbsp balsamic vinegar
1 clove garlic, minced
1 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1 tsp wholegrain mustard
1 tsp red wine vinegar
Salt and pepper

First, prepare the cashew cheese. Place cashews in blender or food processor and blend until they resemble coarse crumbs. Add remaining ingredients and blend until desired consistency. It’s nice to make it super creamy, but to chuck in salads, I like it to be a bit chunky/pasty. If you want it smoother, just add a little more liquid.

Put all salad ingredients in a bowl. Take blobs of cashew cheese and toss through salad.

In a small bowl, whisk together dressing ingredients. Pour over salad and toss.

Refrigerate until ready to use.

chuckberry1I wasn’t going to put Johnny B-Goode up, because it’s the obvious choice – but then I went to listen to it and he just rips right in with that opening riff and how could you not? So GOOD!

veganmofo

17 Comments

  1. Lea says:

    mhm, this look so good!

  2. I love salads like this!

  3. rika@vm says:

    Congratulations completing your first week of VeganMoFo! Yay for Caeli and Little Vegan Bear! Yum cashew cheese looks delicious, they look like ‘feta’! I’ve never had strawberries in my salads before..I must hurry and get them before the season is over! ♡

    1. Thanks Rika! It’s been a long week! It’s funny being on opposite seasons to a lot of other bloggers – we are just getting into our berry season while you are enjoying the last of yours. Make the most of them ! x

  4. panda cookie says:

    I like the look of that cashew cheese.

    1. Cheese totally makes everything better.

  5. Amanda says:

    I LOVE strawberries in salads! Especially with balsamic.

    1. Me too Amanda! Strawberries and balsamic are a match made in heaven 🙂

  6. oh so yummy – love strawberries in salad – have only tried a vegan soft cheese in salad once and I think it was overwhelmed – this looks so much more elegant and stylish – love the apple dish – bookmarked – and onya for getting through the blog roll – I haven’t got round to as many as I would like but so much good stuff in vegan mofo

    1. Thanks Johanna! It’s a bit of a task, but I’m trying to get through it all – MoFo is a full time job with all this reading and posting! The apple dish is so cute, isn’t it? It’s perfect for salads!

  7. Cat says:

    Am stopping here after you left a message on my blog! Like the salad a lot..and the picture…well just great!

Leave a Comment