Music for your Mouth: Infected Mushroom

Infected Mushroom? Infected with DELICIOUSNESS!

I apologise. We haven’t even quite reached the halfway point in MoFo and I’m already getting a bit loopy. Perhaps I was a bit ambitious in aiming for a new recipe every single day. Regardless, I’m here now, and I have a recipe for you.

infectedmush2

Have you noticed my posts are getting less and less talk? I’ve been spending too much time cooking and browsing the blogroll, and so by the time I get around to actually making my own posts, I just want to get them out there.

infectedmush3

Stuffed Mushrooms with Pesto Cashew Cheese

12 – 18 button mushrooms (depending on size)
1 recipe of cashew cheese
3 cloves garlic
1/3 cup walnuts, toasted
Juice of half a lemon
3/4 cup basil
2 Tbsp olive oil + extra for brushing
Salt and Pepper

1 Tbsp pinenuts, toasted

Preheat oven to 180C.

Carefully remove stems from mushrooms and lay mushroom caps upside down on a lightly greased tray.

To make your pesto, place garlic, walnuts, lemon, basil, oil and salt and pepper in a blender, and blend until combined. If more liquid is needed, add water 1 tablespoon at a time.

Prepare cashew cheese and place in a bowl. Add pesto and stir through.

Fill each mushroom with pesto mix, then brush the mushroom flesh with a little oil.

Bake for about 20-25 minutes, until mushrooms are tender and the pesto begins to look a little golden.

Serve on some rocket (straight from your parents’ garden!) and cherry tomatoes to brighten the plate up. Garnish with toasted pine nuts.

infectedmush5I’m going to play you a song called Converting Vegetarians. Obviously they mean converting vegetarians to vegans, right? Ha!

veganmofo

10 Comments

  1. Yum! MoFo is great but gosh it’s distracting. I keep reading all the other blogs and not remaining as interested in my own!

    1. So distracting! Agreed – I spend so long browsing and then go oops, better post before the day’s up!

  2. Kate says:

    Wow these look divine!

  3. oh yummy – I think my comments are getting shorter too

    1. Haha – I hear you on that one. I think I’ll need a holiday from the internet when MoFo is over!

  4. hastalavegan says:

    Wow these look delicious! I’m starting to feel like Mofo is getting on top of me a bit, hoping to cook loads this weekend so I can relax a little bit during the week

    1. Thank you! That sounds like a really good idea – I had intended to be a bit more organised this weekend but my plans went awry. I managed to do a sneaky one last week where I did two posts on one day, scheduling one for the next day so that I at least had a day off!

Leave a Comment