Music for your Mouth: The Flying Burrito Brothers

Hands up if you can believe MoFo’s last day is tomorrow?! I know, last week I felt like I had been MoFo-ing forever, now it seems as though it’s disappeared so fast. What a month it’s been.

So uh, the Flying Burrito Brothers are a country rock band. Yeah, I’ve been waiting to drop this bomb on you! I’m going to share two videos with you at the bottom. The first one because you just have to watch Gram Parsons’ eyebrows. They are seriously hypnotising. Secondly, I’m playing their cover of Wild Horses because I love the song. Enjoy.

burrito2The burritos I’ve made to go with the band are inspired a little by the tofu asada burritos at Trippy Taco. Any Melbournite will know what I’m talking about – smoky tofu goodness. Thank you liquid smoke, you little beauty. I had never heard of this magic stuff prior to my vegan days, now it is my secret weapon. Love the stuff!

These were my favourite burritos I’ve ever made, and I even had the compliment that they were better than the Trippy Taco ones, however that may or may not have been to make me feel good. Sorry about the foil wrapping, I rarely use foil – and buy the recycled stuff when I do – but I just could not get this burrito to stay together for a photo. Once again, I overstuffed my burrito to the point of eruption. When will I learn?

Smoky Tofu Burritos
(Makes 2)

2 tortillas
250g firm tofu

1 Tbsp coconut oil

Marinade:
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 tsp liquid smoke
Juice of 1 orange
1 Tbsp olive oil
1 tsp soy sauce
1 tsp lime juice
1 tsp smoked paprika
1 tsp ground cumin
Dash of cinnamon

Salsa:
1 tsp coconut oil
1/4 red onion, diced
1 green chili, finely chopped
1 tomato, diced
1/4 of a red capsicum, diced
1/4 of a green capsicum, diced
2 tsp lime juice
2 Tbsp fresh coriander
Salt to taste

Filling:
Basically whatever you want! I used:
Lettuce
Avocado
Vegan Cheese

First up, press your tofu good and well so it can absorb as much marinade as possible. I did the old fashioned way – with tea towels and a couple of phone books for a few hours. Once pressed, cut your tofu into cubes. Mix together all marinade ingredients and chuck the tofu in. Marinate for AT LEAST one hour, if not overnight.

To make the salsa, heat teaspoon of coconut oil over medium high heat and add onion and chili and saute until onion becomes translucent. Add capsicum and tomato and cook until tomato breaks down, about 5-10 mins.

Add lime juice, salt and coriander and stir through. Remove from heat and set aside.

To cook the tofu, heat tablespoon of coconut oil in a fry pan over medium high heat. Add tofu cubes and cook for about ten to fifteen minutes, turning occasionally, until just about all the edges are slightly crispy. Turn down heat to low and pour leftover marinade over the tofu, stirring so that it coats all the pieces. Remove from heat.

Assemble your burrito! I’m not going to tell you how to do this! Well okay, what I did was smoosh some avocado on, put some lettuce down, heap on some tofu, sprinkle on some cheese, and drip on some salsa. Wrap and stuff in mouth.

burrito3

Oh and just for fun, I’m sending this over to my friend Liz at I Spy Plum Pie for her new Meatless Monday linkup. Head over and check out the recipes starting to pool up over there!

veganmofo

19 Comments

  1. hastalavegan says:

    These look so tasty, I love that liquid smoke is in my life, perfect for things like this. I am in shock that tomorrow is the last day, cannot believe it! Bring on next year!

    1. It is seriously genius – what was my life before liquid smoke? I don’t even know. I know right – 30 days just flew by! Maybe next year I can manage my time better…I best start planning now 😉

  2. Overstuffed burritos are the best burritos!

    1. Too true. If you don’t make a mess, you’re doing it wrong.

  3. Liquid smoke rocks!!! These look fabo, I’m so making them. I wanted to have Taco Tuesday here at home but I’m the only taco lover 😦

    1. All the more tacos for you! 😉 Do the others like any other Mexican food? Maybe you could have Mexican Monday and include nachos or something that the family might prefer?

  4. dimsimkitty says:

    The smoky tofu sounds amazing!

  5. Nomibug says:

    Yum! But ummm… Liquid smoke??

    1. Oh my gosh, if you like smokey flavours this will CHANGE YOUR LIFE. There are a bunch of different ones…not sure where you could get it in Tassie…they sell it at Leo’s Fine Food here and various specialty shops. You just need the smallest amount to give anything a smokey barbecued flavour. So. Good.

      http://www.tastefuldelights.com.au/en/usa-gourmet/705113-wrights-liquid-smoke-hickory-103ml.html?gclid=CjwKEAjwqamhBRDeyKKuuYztxwQSJAA1luvGauMTXv27AMiN_GilX0Rlo-TI3g-o7x-hYBy_dGDaKRoCBoDw_wcB

      1. Nomibug says:

        Thanks! I’ll check it out.

  6. Somehow I have always enjoyed home made burritos to those at cafes – so I am sure I would prefer your burrito to trippy tacos – the marinade looks amazingly yummy

    1. Yeah – sometimes the take away ones just don’t seem as fresh. Don’t get me wrong, I love Trippy Taco…I probably prefer the tacos though or the chili fries.

  7. rika@vm says:

    Mmmmmm I need some of your smoky tofu burritos….I miss making burritos and must make some right now! It’s funny, when we organized our kitchen pantry, we found couple of liquid smoke bottles and we’d hardly used them…now we plan to use them!

    1. I used to be like that with liquid smoke – it would just sit at the back of the cupboard. I’m going through a smoky phase at the moment I think, so I use it in EVERYTHING!

Leave a Comment