Hello 2015 and Tangy Edamame Buckwheat Noodle Salad

Hellooo everyone and happy 2015! I’m back! I was never really gone, but I’ve had a busy couple of months – moving house, festival-ing, having family over from Perth, going on a mini-holiday, Christmas, New Years, ALL THAT JAZZ. It’s hard to believe that one and a half months slipped away from me just like that, but it’s been lots of fun and I’m now feeling a lot more relaxed and grounded in my new home. Our house has lots of light, lovely floorboards, a rocking kitchen, an outdoor patio and a BACKYARD. I am still very excited by this and I have been here a month now.

I have so much to share with you, but I’m trying not to get too overwhelmed with it today and instead I’ll just hit you with a lovely simple noodle salad recipe. This is a great one for summer because there is pretty minimal cooking involved. In the coming weeks I’ll be sharing a bunch more summer-friendly recipes. I’ve always been a fan of stronger flavours, and this one packs quite a tangy punch thanks to the combination of rice wine vinegar, sriracha and ginger. Nothing like a good hit of ginger to boost the old immune system!

buckwheat1
Tangy Edamame Buckwheat Noodle Salad
(serves 4)

3-4 carrots
1 medium red capsicum
6 spring onions
2 cups frozen edamame
2 cups snow pea tendrils
200g buckwheat soba noodles
3 Tbsp black sesame seeds

Dressing:
4 Tbsp soy sauce
3 Tbsp rice wine vinegar
2 Tbsp sriracha
2 Tbsp sesame oil
1 tsp ginger, minced
1 clove garlic, minced

Prepare your veggies – using a julienne peeler, a mandolin or a really sharp knife and a bit of patience, cut your carrots and set aside. Julienne the red capsicum, and chop your spring onions into 1cm chunks.

Cook your noodles according to instructions, and in the final minute or two, throw in the edamames.

Meanwhile, whisk together dressing ingredients and set aside, and lightly toast sesame seeds in a pan over low heat until fragrant.

Drain noodles and edamame, and place in a large bowl along with carrot, spring onion, capsicum and snow pea tendrils. Pour over dressing and toss to combine. Top with toasted black sesame seeds.

buckwheat2

18 Comments

  1. ooh edamame – sylvia and I love these and I was quite surprised when we have offered them to a friend of hers who is not a fussy eater and she turns up her nose – I think I need more buckwheat noodles and edamame in my life – happy new year caeli – sounds like you have been having fun

  2. Glad to see I wasn’t the only one who has been too busy to blog lately! This salad is great. I’ve been bookmarking summer recipes lately, because I hate having to cook when the weather gets up in the high 30s and low 40s. I keep coming across northern hemisphere websites with all their winter comfort foods and just reading them makes me break out in a sweat!

  3. Danielle L says:

    Looks delicious – colourful, healthy and full of goodness. I look forward to giving it a go.

    1. Thanks Danielle! I am a sucker for colourful meals, I like them to be appealing to the eyes as well as the tastebuds! You’ll have to let me know how you go if you try it. x

  4. What a delicious recipe to start the year with! Bookmarking this! Hope you had a great Christmas πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks so much! Hope you’ve had a wonderful Christmas and new year too πŸ™‚

  5. laurasmess says:

    Looks so delicious! I love edamame (I’ve even got the boy addicted now, yay!) and this salad is like a gorgeous explosion of flavours, colours and nutrients. Happy 2015 to you too lovely! This is a great healthy start (here’s to more time to blog in the new year, argh! Ditto my experience!) xx

    1. Thanks Laura! Edamame is a fave in our house, you should see how quickly they disappear when I put out a bowl of salted edamame. YUM! Eep, I know, hopefully 2015 is the year I organise my time better! I look forward to another year of your posts (now with puppy :D) xx

  6. oh wow! I have some edamame in the freezer and wanted to bust it out for something spesh and this is awesome!

    1. I hope you enjoy it if you do! I think I only found frozen shelled edamame for the first time last year, and soon after I made this! So cool we can get them like this (though I also love eating them out of their pods with salt and chili…mmmmmm)

  7. Welcome back Caeli! I just got back from Melbourne, it’s been a crazy month – festivities, family visiting, and of course discovered my long lost grand aunt, it was fate. What a delightfully delicious noodle salad, perfect for the hot days!

    Cheers to a new year full of love, peace, laughs, joy and amazing food! Happy New Year, my friend. Take care and have a beautiful weekend! X

    1. Thanks Rika! Wow, how time flies. I can’t believe you’ve been and gone to Melbourne already! And wow, a long lost grand aunt – how did that happen? I hope you had a wonderful time while here. Do you have your next travels planned, or is it rest time for a while? x x

  8. mihl says:

    We’re having a really weird winter that is more like spring and my daughter is already asking if it’s summer again. We should move to Australia right now! Your bowl looks perfect for every season and I love the bright colours!

    1. Thanks Mihl! πŸ™‚ Hmm, it is very strange, isn’t it? Our last winter was not particularly cold either (apart from the odd day) and now it’s summer and we’ve barely even had any scorchers – usually it seems to get hotter and hotter every year! There’s only one month to go and we’ve only had a handful of 30+ days. Crazy!

  9. Kate says:

    My niece is obsessed with those little frozen edamame snacks, but i’ve got to to admit – i’ve never tried them. I’ll have to grab a bag at the supermarket next time though, because this recipe looks delicious!

    1. I only really started playing around with them last year – before that, I had never been able to find the shelled ones! Perhaps I wasn’t looking in the right places though. I do love the ones in their shells as a salty pre-gyoza treat though too. Hope it works well for you if you try it!

Leave a Comment