Orecchiette with Lemon, Mint and Peas

This seems more like a spring recipe to me, but with the weather we’ve been having here you would hardly know it’s summer so I’m going to sneak it in anyway. Spring is usually when gardens have an abundance of lovely fresh peas, so if you have some growing, you might want to make use of them in place of the frozen ones I’ve used here.

I love the fresh flavours in this dish, and I especially love that it can be thrown together in no time for a satisfying weeknight meal. Almost a year into my ‘real job’, I’m really finding the value in speedy weeknight meals. Gotta love some down time in the evenings!

orriecchete

Orecchiette with Lemon, Mint and Peas
(serves 4 – 6)

500g dried orecchiette
1 Tbsp rice bran oil (or other cooking oil)
2Tbsp shallots, finely chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
Juice of one lemon
1 Tbsp lemon zest
2 Tbsp olive oil
2 cups frozen peas
2 cups rocket
1/2 cup fresh mint, finely chopped
1 tsp chili flakes
Pinch salt
Pepper

Bring a large pot of water to the boil, and add orecchiette. Cook according to packet directions, then drain.

Meanwhile, heat rice bran oil in a pan over medium heat. Add shallots and saute for a couple of minutes, until translucent. Add garlic and cook for a further minute.

Add peas to the pan, and cook for a couple of minutes – until heated through – then remove from heat.

In a small bowl, whisk together lemon juice, zest, olive oil, salt, pepper and chili flakes.

In a larger bowl, combine drained orecchiette, pea mix and lemon juice blend and stir to combine. Add mint and stir through. Taste for seasoning and adjust if necessary.

Separate into bowls and top with a handful of rocket before serving.

orriecchete2

20 Comments

  1. luminouszest says:

    yummy!

  2. don’t worry – I think summer might be on the way and this might be just the summery meal we need

    1. Better late than never? Though I think I would quite enjoy a summer of late 20’s, no need for 30+!

  3. bscartabello says:

    Such a simple recipe, but looks like it’s packed with flavor. Very refreshing!!

    1. Thanks so much ๐Ÿ˜€ I love the lightness that mint adds to dishes like this.

  4. lysette says:

    Hey for us in the northern hemisphere heading out of winter – spring time recipes are welcome ๐Ÿ™‚ I’d never heard of orecchetti, on the look out for it now.

    1. I can’t believe the seasons are almost changing! Arghh!

  5. danielle says:

    this looks so good!

  6. Yum! I should cook orecchiette more often, it’s such a fancy looking pasta!

    1. It’s the swish sister of plain jane shells. Haha

  7. RIKA@VM says:

    I LOOOOOOOVE ORECCHIETTE! This type of pasta absorbs the cream or sauce very well! It looks so delicious with peas and mintโ€ฆand yay for chili flakes!

    1. I agree! I love it with peas especially because for some reason I feel very satisfied when the peas end up inside the little orecchiettes, hehe.

  8. This sound so delicious and fresh. Yum!

  9. Sophie33 says:

    A lovely simple Seasonal pasta dish! I say: Yum!

    1. Thanks Sophie ๐Ÿ™‚ x

Leave a Comment