The Best Smokey Vegan Sausage Rolls

Doing photo shoots with food is a funny thing. It’s not something I know or pretend to know much about, I just have a go and see what happens. I haven’t quite found my own style yet, I am quite haphazard and while I like warm rich tones, natural light and shadows that would indicate inside shots suit me best, I am often rushing to snap something before the sun goes down and as a result often photograph outside to catch the last remaining light.

I had to laugh at myself when I found myself frustrated that I didn’t know how to make sausage rolls look good. Does one stack sausage rolls, or line them up in a neat little line?

Who cares how they look? They taste great!

srolls1I find myself doing strange things to try and get a photo that I’m happy with. Grabbing random props, whatever is within arm’s reach. This time some fresh lettuce from the garden for some colour. I don’t know why you would serve a whole stack of sausage rolls with two leaves of lettuce, but I was not pondering the realistic nature of the arrangement at this time.

As I said – I am no photographer, though I have come a long way since the first posts on this blog, where we were living and traveling in our van, cooking on a little gas stove and snapping photos with a phone on the grass outside our van door. Those were the days! Hopefully one day I will be able to bring round two of van life cooking to you, but for now you’ll have to settle for these awkwardly captured sausage rolls.

srolls2The Best Smokey Vegan Sausage Rolls

3 sheets prepared puff pastry
450g tempeh
1 small onion, finely diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 cup rolled oats
1/4 cup ground flax seeds
1/2 cup walnuts
1 carrot, grated
1 Tbsp tomato paste
2 Tbsp soy sauce
2 tsp liquid smoke
1 tsp smoked paprkia
1/4 cup parsley, roughly chopped
Salt and Pepper
2 Tbsp soy milk
Sesame seeds for sprinkling

Preheat oven to 200C and grease or line a couple of baking trays.

Crumble tempeh with your hands into a large bowl. Mix in onion and garlic.

Put walnuts in a processor and pulse a few times or roughly chop so that they are smallish. Add to the bowl. Do the same with the oats – pulse a few times. You could use quick oats or leave them whole, but this is how I roll.

Add the rest of the ingredients to the bowl and stir well to combine. Taste for seasoning.

Cut each piece of puff pastry in half. Place filling down the centre of each half and roll up. Cut to the desired size. Lay out on baking trays (give them a little space to puff). Slash the top of each sausage roll a few times with a sharp knife, then brush with soy milk and sprinkle with sesame seeds.

Cook for 25-30 mins, until puffy and golden brown.

srolls3

20 Comments

  1. ooh I like that you use tempeh – must try that – and always love some smoky flavours!

    as for photography, I feel the same as you about struggling to set up (I have been known to search for that sort of food in foodgawker to look at how others do it) – have been taking some outdoor photos for the same reason but also have just sometimes had to take photos in the inside with the light on as I can see that photos are important in blogging and look great with natural light but I don’t want to miss blogging recipes I like because I ate the meal after the sun had gone down.

    And I like the addition of lettuce leaves – colour is always good and the idea that they can be made healthy with some salad is nice.

    1. Yes, I’m always looking for new ways to use tempeh because I am not a huge fan of it just chopped up in stir fries or other dishes.

      Good idea! – I should have done some sausage roll searches to get some ideas. I know what you mean – I usually have to cook in the day with the purpose of putting it on the blog to catch natural light – it always seems like a race to the finish line. If I had better indoor light perhaps I could do some evening dinner shots – would be much more convenient, that’s for sure!

  2. smoky!!!! Works for me! I hate that I can’t take photos of my dinner in good lighting as all the lighting inside my house pretty much sucks (and I have started taking pics of my food in the front yard so people driving by see me perching stuff on the front fence).

    1. Agreed! I love smokey flavours – have been obsessed for some time. I think I’m starting to build up a tolerance to it though, unfortunately. Just like chili, I need to add more and more each time to taste it 😀 Ha! I’ve been known to get in the yard to snap a pic too 😉 Don’t worry, I’m sure they’re just jealous of your delicious creations!

  3. genkikitty says:

    Looks delicious!!!

  4. Yep, photographing sausage rolls are tricky! But you did well, as I would happily have a plateful 🙂

    1. Thank you! I’m happy to share 😉

  5. Biilliiam says:

    Best Sausage Rolls N’Straya

  6. Your blog is adorable! I love it. 🙂

  7. shaheen says:

    Snap, I have made some sausage rolls too and had difficulty knowing how to present them too. I ended up just plonking two on a plate. I love your use of tempeh and smoky flavours so will have to try and remember your recipe. My home is dark and we don’t have good lighting so the photos change, sometimes taken indoors, sometimes outdoors. I am fortunate in that my husband likes to take photo’s so I leave it to him mostly.

    1. It’s so funny painstakingly trying to place them nicely isn’t it?! Ooh you’re lucky to have your own personal photographer. I’m the same – we have some not great lighting so I just try to get it done while the sun is shining – a bit harder now we are nearing the shortest day of the year!

  8. Claryn says:

    I don’t know a thing about sausage rolls — I didn’t even know that was a thing! — but holy cow these look and sound delicious. Love that you used tempeh, too!

    1. Ooh really, you’ve never heard of them?! You should definitely try em out, they’re the best! I’m just happy I found another way I can enjoy tempeh – I want to like it but still find it a bit weird, haha.

  9. thelilawolff says:

    These look fabulous I love the smoky spin on sausage rolls!

    1. Thanks Lila! I’m into smokey flavours in anything at the moment.

  10. Amazing – just the other day I was craving a sausage roll and thought how I’d never actually sorted myself out to make them, and how I should remedy the situation immediately. Those rolls look fantastic, however you present them! I’d have to make them mini-size, so I could have about 50…

    1. Ha – one batch I did tiny ones too, just so I could eat “more”:D. You should definitely make some – once you make sausage rolls you’ll want them all the time though…I always make a big batch and cook em and freeze them so I’ve always got some on hand!

Leave a Comment