Baked Rice Paper Rolls with Cashew Dipping Sauce

Winter is usually about soups, curries, stews and other hearty dishes, but sometimes you just need something a little more colourful. Rice paper rolls are the ultimate summer dish, but no longer are they banished to hot weather alone.

The great thing about rice paper rolls is how versatile they are – you can pretty much make them with whatever you have on hand. As a result, each time I make them they are slightly different. While I’ve only included veggies in these ones, I often add a strip of marinated tofu or tempeh to each roll, or even some edamame beans or avocado (though I haven’t tried avo in the baked version). When I am making fresh rice paper rolls, I always tend to separate out each ingredient and place them neatly in the rolls, but with these I’ve just mixed all the bits up in a bowl and chucked them in – perhaps more reminiscent of a spring roll filling. Easy as bro.

bakedriceppaperrolls3

Like the filling, the dipping sauce I use varies each time – sometimes I just grab some sweet chili or rice wine vinegar and soy straight from the bottles, or sometimes I feel inspired to whip something up especially. I initially intended to do a peanut dipping sauce, but after finding there was no peanut butter (sacrilege!) I improvised with cashews and sesame oil, which had quite a similar effect.

I did have a go at pan frying these dudes, and then tried baking them – while they were both good, I preferred the texture of the baked ones which seemed to get a little crispier while still retaining some chewiness, as well as being less oily.

bakedricepaperrolls1Baked Rice Paper Rolls with Cashew Dipping Sauce
(makes about 22)

2 cups purple cabbage, shredded
2 cups green cabbage, shredded
1 cup spring onion, chopped
1 1/2 cups carrot, julienned (about 1 large carrot)
2 cups bean sprouts
1/4 cup fresh mint, roughly chopped
1/4 cup fresh coriander, roughly chopped
100g brown rice vermicelli noodles
1/4 cup rice wine vinegar
3 Tbsp soy sauce
1 chili, finely chopped
Rice paper sheets

Olive oil for brushing

Cashew dipping sauce:
1/2 cup cashews, soaked
1 Tbsp soy sauce
1 Tbsp sriracha
1 tsp sesame oil
1 tsp fresh ginger, minced

Preheat oven to 180C, and line two baking trays with paper.

Place vermicelli noodles in a bowl, and cover with warm water. Set aside.

In a large bowl, mix together cabbages, spring onions, carrot, mint, coriander and bean sprouts. When noodles are tender, drain them and using kitchen scissors, roughly chop them so they become smaller pieces. Add to the bowl with the veggies.

In a small bowl, mix together chili, rice wine vinegar and soy sauce. Pour over the veggie mix.

Now prepare a large bowl with warm water to dip the rice paper sheets in. One at a time, lay out the sheets, place filling in the centre and roll up, folding the sides in first then rolling away from yourself. If you aren’t familiar with how to wrap rice paper rolls, jump on youtube and do a quick search.

Lay rice paper rolls down on the prepared trays, then spray or brush with olive oil. Bake for 15 minutes, then flip them and bake for another 10-15.

To make the dipping sauce, place all ingredients in a blender or food processor and blend until smooth. If too thick, keep adding water one tablespoon at a time until you reach the desired consistency.

bakedricepaperrolls2

19 Comments

  1. Veganopoulous says:

    Gimmeeeeee! And more lovely photos too! Phwoarness.

    1. Thank you πŸ˜€ I am definitely learning as I go and improving with the photos. I have seen many a dish go cold while it waits for me πŸ˜‰

  2. lysette says:

    Now I want to try all the nut butters as sauces, a salad roll tasting! and see which pleases most. Cashew seems a natural sub for peanut sauce but I wonder what sunflower butter sauce would taste like -I do love peanut though, it’s hard to switch out the tried and true!

    1. Great idea! I often forget to try substituting seeds for nuts, sunflower butter does just seem to have that peanuty flavour doesn’t it? I’ll have to give it a go! I’m with you though, while I like alternatives, sometimes there’s just no replacing PB.

  3. Yum. That looks like a perfect plate of goodness I say.

  4. what a beautiful plate of dinner – I have baked rice paper rolls a few times and loved them so maybe this is a nudge for me to use up the rice paper rolls in the pantry this way and they have been there too long

  5. shaheen says:

    Now that is one satisfying plate of food and one i really want to tuck in, esp. right now as its lunch time. I don’t use rice paper much, but this is something i am going to keep in mind to give a go

  6. wow! how good do these look. i’ve made veggie rolls before but never thought about baking them. great idea πŸ™‚

  7. Oh, those look really good. My kids would love them…I must give them the recipe and tell them to make them for me!

  8. Hi Caeli, did you get my e-mail in regards to the giveaway? Just wanted to let you know that I will be choosing another winner tomorrow if I didn’t receive a response from you! Hope all is well xo

  9. wow looks like there has been lots of work behind the scenes – looking good – I have updated my feed

    1. littleveganbear says:

      Thanks Johanna!

Leave a Comment