Fruity Leathers

Since my parents invested in a dehydrator, whenever I’m going on a camping trip I like to pop around and make up some goodies (only to have to return a day later to retrieve them). I usually do a couple of variations of crackers, a few variations of fruit leathers and some fruit or veggie crisps – it’s a great way to pack nutritious snacks that are easy to transport and keep well, and the sky’s the limit when it comes to making up different flavour combinations.

fleather1These are my latest three fruit leather blends. Instructions are very straight forward and apply to whatever combination you go with. I’m still working out some things with different fruits producing different textures – when I’ve used apples the mix tends to separate a bit and crack, others produce a stickier mix – regardless, all I’ve done have been tasty.

Cherry Vanilla Fruit Leather
(makes 1 sheet)

2 cups fresh cherries, pitted
1.5 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp lemon juice
1 Tbsp chia seeds

fleather2Apple, Pear and Cinnamon Fruit Leather
(makes 1 sheet)

2 pears, chopped and cores removed
1 apple, chopped and core removed
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1 Tbsp lemon juice

fleather3Banana Berry Mint Fruit Leather
(makes 1 sheet)

2 x bananas
250g strawberrys, hulled
1 Tbsp lemon juice
2 Tbsp fresh mint

fleather4Instructions:

Chuck all your ingredients in a blender and whizz until smooth and of spreadable consistency. If it is too runny, try adding some chia seeds, and likewise if too thick add some liquid – either citrus juice or a spash of water. Pour mixture onto a teflex sheet on a dehydrator tray and spread evenly, to about half a centimetre or just a little more in thickness. Dehydrate at 60C for 1 hour, then reduce to 40C and continue to dehydrate for about 8 – 12 hours. The time will vary depending on the fruit, thickness, etc, so just check in every now and then to see if it’s ready.

I have seen some people instruct to peel and flip the leather part way through – I have not tried this method yet, but can verify that it seems to work just fine leaving on the one side.

fleather5

13 Comments

  1. lysette says:

    Mmm Love the color of the cherry leather. Where do you go camping?

    1. It’s lovely isn’t it? We haven’t been in a little bit as the bear has had a fractured ankle. These ones were made prior to a music festival in Lexton. It would have been so nice to have our own little dehydrator in the van when we were traveling around oz, hehe.

  2. aspoonfulofnature says:

    omg this is so cool!! now I want a dehydrator too 🙂

    https://aspoonfulofnature.wordpress.com/

    1. They’re lots of fun to play around with!

  3. how nice to be able to visit a dehydrator! these look great for portable snacks

    1. Absolutely! Yep, so good for camping, hiking, etc – all the snacks are so light! hehe

  4. awesome! I always mean to do fruit leathers but never get around to it. I did make my own corn chips with pureed corn but the corny aftertaste was really strong. Lovely photos!

    1. Ooh cornchips have been on my list! Interesting feedback….I like corn but it sounds like the aftertaste was too much? Maybe they could be cut with something…

  5. Wow your leathers look great 🙂 We got a dehydrator this week but haven’t done much in it yet… maybe I’ll go make leathers for tomorrow 🙂 Thank you

    1. Ooh lucky you! I bet you’ll have fun with it..you’ll have to let me know how it goes 😀

      1. We made some 🙂 My post today! 🙂

  6. laurasmess says:

    These look amazing! I’ve always wanted to make fruit leather but I am yet to give it a go. Definitely need to find myself a dehydrator… 🙂

    1. They are amazing! I’m in love with tomato oniony basil dehydrator crackers….mmmm

Leave a Comment